About Ecuador and Rio Napo

Ecuador formed part of the northern Inca Empire until the Spanish conquest in 1533.

  • In 1563 Quito was the seat of Spanish colonial government and became part of the Viceroyalty of New Granada in 1717.
  • The territories of the Viceroyalty were Colombia, Venezuela, and Quito.
  • These areas gained their independence from Spain gradually between 1819 and 1822.
  • They subsequently formed a federation known as Gran Colombia.
  • Quito withdraw from Gran Columbia in 1830, its named was changed to the “Republic of the Equator.”
  • Ecuador is in western South America and is borderedby Pacific Ocean and lies between Colombia and Peru.
  • Continental land area is 109,483 miles2 (283,561 kilometers2).
  • Ecuador is divided into three continental regions: the Costa, Sierra, and Oriente. The Galápagos Islands are a major island region of Ecuador.
  • As of 1 January 2015, the population of Ecuador was estimated to be 16,173,127 people.
  • The Capital of Ecuador is Quito.
  • The Oriente is a region in eastern Ecuador where you find Yachana Lodge.
  • This area starts on the eastern slopes of the Ecuadorian Andes and traverses to lowland areas of rainforest in the Amazon Basin.
  • The Amazon area in Ecuador is about the size of the state of Alabama and only 2% of the of the world’s Amazon Basin belongs to Ecuador.